Must See

Literary Competition Winners Announced!

Winners of the inaugural Sutherland Shire Literary Competition were presented with awards by internationally recognised author Kathy Lette, at a presentation held at Hazelhurst Arts Centre, Gymea.

Celebrating the exciting breadth of literary talent that exists not only across the Sutherland Shire but the whole of our nation, entries were open to residents from across Australia.

“Submissions were received from every State and Territory in Australia,” said Sutherland Shire Mayor, Councillor Carmelo Pesce.

The 3 literary categories: traditional (rhyming) poetry, free verse poetry and short story attracted hundreds of entries which were judged by well-known, national award-winning poet, Mr David Campbell and award-winning writer and academic, Ms Claire Corbett.

“A total of 581 entries were received: 346 in the poetry sections and 235 in the short story section, with 44% of entries submitted by residents of Sutherland Shire,” Mayor Pesce added.

“Congratulations to all of the winners in our very first Sutherland Shire Literary competition. The competition has proved a resounding success and just goes to show what a fantastic array of literary talent we have, both across the Sutherland Shire and Australia.”

Prize money was offered in each category thanks to the generous sponsorship of Tradies, the University of Wollongong and Moran Aged Care. To encourage entries from local writers, a Shire Resident’s Prize was made available in each of the three competition categories.

Sutherland Shire Council thanks our local literary groups—the Fellowship of Australian Writers (Sutherland), the Sutherland Shire Writing Group and the Cronulla Writing Group—for their input and enthusiastic support and also acknowledges the efforts of the Literary Competition sub-committee, including Sutherland Shire councillors Barry Collier OAM, Tom Croucher, Michael Forshaw and library staff, in bringing the Competition to life.

The presentation of prizes in Sutherland Shire’s first Literary Competition is the culmination of a vision to nurture, promote and celebrate literary creativity in Sutherland Shire and build on the love of literature and reading fostered by our Shire libraries. The competition encouraged local writers and showcases their talents, as well as promoting Sutherland Shire to the nation.



First Prize – Jack, My Friend – Shelley Hansen, Maryborough Qld

Second Prize – Two families who never met – Robyn Sykes, Binalong NSW

Third Prize – Too Ancient To Bleed – Brenda-Joy Pritchard, Charters Towers Qld

Shire Resident’s Prize – The Last Wave – Ann O’Connor, Gymea NSW

Highly Commended – She-Ode to the Wind – Malcolm Beveridge, North Lakes Qld

Highly Commended – The Price of Beer – Jacqueline Winn, Possum Brush NSW

Highly Commended – From Gallipoli with Love – Tom McIlveen, Port Macquarie NSW


First Prize- Nothing much here – Penny Lane, Nelson Bay NSW

Second Prize – How to write a waterfall – Penny Lane, Nelson Bay NSW

Third Prize – Spirits of the Land – John Minnery, Kelvin Grove Qld

Shire Resident’s Prize – Ancient – Tee Linden, Sutherland NSW

Highly Commended – Turning by degrees – Jenny Pollak, Mackerel Beach NSW

Highly Commended – Dance of the Cranes – Joyce Noble, Engadine NSW


First Prize – The Escapist – Alexander Tobal, Roleystone WA

Second Prize – The Jam Tin – Mark Scott, Gladesville NSW

Third Prize – Soles – Carla Fitzgerald, Como NSW

Shire Resident’s Prize – Shazza’s Sheep – Tee Linden, Sutherland NSW

Highly Commended – The Lady Vanishes – Catherine Moffat, Lake Munmorah NSW

Highly Commended – A Man Digs a Grave – Jacqueline Winn, Possum Brush NSW

Highly Commended – Ray – Guy Salvidge, Northam WA

Highly Commended Invasive Species – Morgan Nunan, Montmorency Vic

Highly Commended – What I Want You to Know – Kristin Murdock, Warooka SA

Highly Commended- The Flow – Margaret Linley, Geelong Vic

Source: Sutherland Shire Council

Most Popular

Newsletter Signup

To Top